Présentation

La technologie d'Abivax est basée sur une science de pointe dont l'objectif est de développer des solutions thérapeutiques qui stimulent la machinerie immunitaire naturelle du corps pour traiter les maladies. Notre chimiothèque de petites molécules est analysée par notre équipe R&D afin de sélectionner et développer des molécules adaptées à cette approche thérapeutique.

Abivax se concentre sur le développement de solutions thérapeutiques pour traiter efficacement les maladies inflammatoires, les maladies virales et le cancer.

Abivax dispose actuellement de deux programmes en développement clinique avec ABX464 dans les indications de la rectocolite hémorragique et la polyarthrite rhumatoïde ainsi que d’un programme en préparation pour le traitement de la maladie de Crohn. ABX196 est également au stade clinique dans le traitement des patients souffrant d’un cancer hépatocellulaire.

ABX464 pour les maladies inflammatoires de l'intestin et d'autres maladies inflammatoires

Abivax a développé ABX464 à partir de la chimiothèque de l’entreprise comprenant plus de 2 200 petites molécules qui ont le potentiel de modifier l’épissage de l’ARN. L’incidence d’ABX464 sur la modulation de l’épissage de l’ARN résulte en une puissante activité anti-inflammatoire.

Abivax utilise les propriétés anti-inflammatoires d’ABX464 pour cibler l’inflammation en essais cliniques. La découverte de ces propriétés a conduit à l'initiation d'études cliniques qui positionnent ABX464 comme candidat-médicament ayant le potentiel de traiter la rectocolite hémorragique, la maladie de Crohn et les autres maladies inflammatoires.

Comment fonctionne ABX464 dans l’inflammation?

L’effet anti-inflammatoire d’ABX464 est généré par la liaison de la molécule à sa cible, le Cap Binding Complex (CBC), localisé à l’extrémité 5’ de chacune des molécules d’ARN cellulaire non codante. De cette liaison résulte l'épissage d'un long brin d’ARN non codant, induisant la surexpression d'un seul produit micro-ARN, le miR-124. Le miR-124 initie une réaction en chaine qui propagerait l'effet anti-inflammatoire observé dans les modèles précliniques.

ABX464 Mechanism of Action in Ulcerative Colitis

La maladie chronique de l’intestin, sans remède

La maladie inflammatoire de l'intestin (MICI) décrit, de façon générale, les pathologies caractérisées par une inflammation chronique du tube digestif. Les deux principaux types de MICI sont la rectocolite hémorragique (RCH) et la maladie de Crohn (MC). Si la Maladie de Crohn peut affecter chaque région du tube digestif, la rectocolite hémorragique affecte uniquement le colon et entraîne une inflammation qui conduit aux saignements rectaux, aux diarrhées sanglantes, aux crampes abdominales ou aux douleurs sévères. ABX464 est développé dans la rectocolite hémorragique, dont la cause exacte reste inconnue. Toutefois, une dérégulation du système immunitaire et une origine génétique sont des causes possibles. La rectocolite hémorragique peut être débilitante, et mener à des complications potentiellement mortelles. Bien que le traitement de la rectocolite hémorragique se soit considérablement améliorée au cours des dernières années, il n’existe encore aujourd’hui aucune guérison, démontrant l’existence d’un besoin médical important non satisfait. Pour en savoir plus sur la rectocolite hémorragique et sur les MICI, rendez-vous sur:

ABX464 dans la polyarthrite rhumatoïde

Abivax a développé ABX464 à partir de la chimiothèque de l’entreprise comprenant plus de 2 200 petites molécules qui ont le potentiel de modifier l’épissage de l’ARN. L’incidence d’ABX464 sur la modulation de l’épissage de l’ARN résulte en une puissante activité anti-inflammatoire.

En plus des observations cliniques chez les patients atteints de RCH, Abivax a généré des données précliniques prometteuses à partir de modèles animaux d'arthrite induite au collagène. Ces résultats étaient décisifs pour faire avancer ABX464 dans un essai clinique de Phase 2a qui est actuellement en cours dans la polyarthrite rhumatoïde (PR).

Comment fonctionne ABX464 dans l’inflammation?

L’effet anti-inflammatoire d’ABX464 est généré par la liaison de la molécule à sa cible, le Cap Binding Complex (CBC), localisé à l’extrémité 5’ de chacune des molécules d’ARN cellulaire non codante. De cette liaison résulte l'épissage d'un long brin d’ARN non codant, induisant la surexpression d'un seul produit micro-ARN, le miR-124. Le miR-124 initie une réaction en chaine qui propagerait l'effet anti-inflammatoire observé dans les modèles précliniques.

ABX196 pour le cancer

Abivax développe ABX196, un stimulateur immunitaire pour le traitement du carcinome hépatocellulaire (CHC),en combinaison avec un checkpoint inhibitor. Le CHC est la forme la plus commune de cancer primaire du foie. La technologie Abivax se concentre sur les cellules T invasives naturelles (iNKT) pour éliminer les tumeurs.

Exploiter le système immunitaire pour traiter le cancer

L’Hépatocarcinome (CHC) est la forme la plus fréquente (75-90%) de cancer du foie chez les adultes. Il survient généralement dans le cadre d’une inflammation chronique du foie et/ou d’une cirrhose, et est étroitement lié à une infection virale chronique (hépatite B ou C), à l’exposition à des toxiques (alcool) ou à la stéatohépatite non-alcoolique (NASH). Aux États-Unis ainsi qu’au plan mondial, l’augmentation de l’incidence et des décès liés aux hépatocarcinomes est liée aux infections par le virus de l’hépatite B et C ainsi qu'à la stéatohépatite métabolique (NASH). En 2018, les données de prévalence du CHC dénombrent un total de 79 000 cas aux États-Unis et au sein du G5 Europe (Allemagne, France, Italie, Espagne et Royaume-Uni), avec 67 000 nouveaux cas. Au niveau mondial, ont été dénombrés 841 000 nouveaux cas d’hépatocarcinome (au 6ème rang de tous les cancers) et 782 000 décès (4ème rang) en 2018. Actuellement, l'American Cancer Society rapporte qu’aux États-Unis, le taux de survie à cinq ans est de 31% pour le CHC localisé, de 11% pour le CHC régional et de 2% pour le CHC distant ou métastatique, indiquant clairement un besoin médical non satisfait et une nécessité pour des thérapies innovantes dans le traitement de l’hépatocarcinome. Les ventes de produits pharmaceutiques destinés au traitement du CHC (États-Unis, G5 Europe, Japon) représentaient 616 millions de dollars en 2018, soit 20 % de plus qu’en 2017 (513 millions de dollars).

Source: GlobalData

Plus d'information sur :

Overview

Abivax’s technology is based on cutting-edge science driven by the goal of developing therapeutics that stimulate the body’s natural immune mechanisms to cure diseases. Our proprietary library of small molecule candidates is stringently analyzed by our R&D team to select and develop agents optimally suited for this therapeutic approach.

Abivax is focused on developing therapies to effectively treat inflammatory and viral diseases as well as cancer.

Abivax has three programs in clinical development with ABX464 to treat ulcerative colitis, rheumatoid arthritis, and HIV; another program in Crohn’s disease is also in preparation. Furthermore, ABX196 is being tested in a clinical study to treat patients with hepatocellular carcinoma.

ABX464 for ulcerative colitis and other inflammatory diseases

Abivax developed ABX464 from the company’s chemical library of over 2,200 small molecules that have the potential to modulate RNA splicing. The resulting effects of ABX464's RNA splicing constitute a potent anti-inflammatory action, as well as an ability to reduce viral reservoirs of HIV.

Abivax is utilizing ABX464’s anti-inflammatory properties to target inflammation in clinical trials. The discovery of ABX464’s anti-inflammatory properties prompted the initiation of studies which position ABX464 as a drug candidate with the potential to treat ulcerative colitis and other inflammatory diseases.

How does ABX464 address inflammation?

ABX464’s anti-inflammatory effect is triggered by the molecule binding to its target, the cap binding complex (CBC), located on the 5' end of every cellular non-coding RNA molecule. This binding results in the splicing of a long, non-coding RNA, that induces the overexpression of a single micro-RNA product, miR-124. miR-124 initiates a cascade which is believed to propagate the anti-inflammatory effect that has been observed in preclinical models.

IBD – a chronic disease with no cure

Inflammatory bowel disease broadly describes conditions characterized by chronic inflammation of the digestive tract. The two major types of IBD are ulcerative colitis (UC) and Crohn’s disease (CD). While CD can affect any part of the gastrointestinal tract, UC only affects the colon and causes inflammation that can lead to rectal bleeding, bloody diarrhea, abdominal cramps, and severe pain. ABX464 is being studied in UC, the exact cause of which remains unknown. However, a dysregulated immune system and genetic influence are possible causes. UC can be debilitating and can lead to life-threatening complications. Although treatment for UC has improved significantly in recent years, there is still no cure, and patients often become resistant to current treatments, demonstrating a substantial unmet need. To learn more about UC and IBD, go to:

ABX464 for HIV

Abivax developed ABX464 from the company’s chemical library of over 2,200 small molecules that have the potential to modulate RNA splicing. The resulting effects of ABX464's RNA splicing constitute a potent anti-inflammatory action, as well as an ability to reduce viral reservoirs of HIV.

Currently, there are no available therapies capable of eliminating the HIV reservoir that is latent in infected immune cells. Therefore, within two weeks after current treatments are stopped, viral replication of the latent HIV reservoir restores viral load in the blood back to pre-treatment levels. ABX464 is the first therapy to demonstrate a reduction in the HIV reservoir in two independent clinical trials and has the potential to functionally cure HIV.

How does ABX464 reduce the HIV reservoir?

Like in inflammatory diseases, ABX464 binds to its cellular target, the Cap Binding Complex (CBC), thereby inhibiting the production of full-length viral RNA by HIV-infected cells that is required for HIV replication. A mechanism of action never explored before, binding to the CBC of the viral mRNA molecule by ABX464 enhances splicing of HIV RNA to render it untranslatable by the cell, thereby blocking HIV replication. Therefore, unlike currently available anti-retrovirals that prevent HIV infection of new cells, ABX464 targets already-infected cells, and prevents the reservoir of integrated HIV DNA from leading to the production of new viruses.

ABX464’s mechanism of action on the HIV reservoir is currently being investigated based on the following three hypotheses: (1) the spliced viral RNA generated by treatment with ABX464 results in an immune response to HIV-infected reservoir cells (2) the induction of HIV RNA splicing leads to the generation of deficient virus (3) the accumulation of spliced viral RNA in the cells leads to cell death.

HIV/AIDS remains one of the world's most significant public health challenges.

Despite effective HIV prevention tools and methods, the number of new infections among adults worldwide has not decreased significantly. Effective antiviral therapies only have the ability to transform HIV into a chronic disease, and thus patients must take medication daily for the rest of their lives. There is an urgent medical need for innovative therapies that lead to a true functional cure for HIV. To learn more about HIV/AIDS go to:

ABX196 for cancer

Abivax is developing ABX196, an immune enhancer for the combination treatment of hepatocellular carcinoma (HCC) with a check point inhibitor. HCC is the most common type of primary liver cancer. The company’s technology focuses on invariant natural killer T-cells (iNKT) to fight tumors.

Harnessing the immune system to treat cancer

Hepatocellular carcinoma (HCC) is the most common form (75-90%) of primary liver cancer in adults. It typically occurs in the setting of chronic liver inflammation and/or cirrhosis, and is closely linked to chronic viral infection such as hepatitis B or C, exposure to toxins such as alcohol, and to certain diseases such as non-alcoholic steato-hepatitis (NASH). The incidence of, and deaths related to HCC, are increasing in the United States and globally due to hepatitis B and C virus infections, as well as NASH. Prevalence data from 2018 show a total of 79,000 cases of HCC in the U.S. and G5 Europe (Germany, France, Italy, Spain and UK), with 67,000 new cases. Globally, there were 841,000 new cases of liver cancer (ranked 6th of all reported cancers) and 782,000 fatalities (ranked 4th) in 2018. Currently, the American Cancer Society reports five-year survival rates in the U.S. of 31% for localized HCC, 11% for regional and 2% for distant or metastatic, indicating a clear unmet medical need for improved therapies for HCC. Pharmaceutical sales in HCC (U.S., G5 Europe and Japan) were USD 616 M in 2018, up 20% from 2017 (USD 513 M).

Source: GlobalData

To learn more about cancer go to: